‘Presidential Idol’ winners honored at breakfast

The winners of this year’s Presidential Idol Arts Contest were honored Monday at a breakfast ceremony at Franklin Towne Charter High School.

The contest, held by Sen. Mike Stack, encouraged K-12 students in the 5th senatorial district to submit posters and write speeches honoring U.S. presidents.

The 14 winners enjoyed breakfast with their families, and displayed their handiwork, for which they each received a $100 savings bond.

Below are the names of the winners:

-Kindergarten: Angelica R. Lopez, Samuel Paley Early Learning Center -Grade 1: Edward Kahn, Resurrection of Our Lord School -Grade 2: Marko Doroch, Anne Frank Elementary School -Grade 3: Isabella Trinacria, Saint Anselm School -Grade 4: Angel Murray, Tacony Academy Charter School -Grade 5: Jose Hernandez, James Sullivan Elementary School -Grade 6 (tie): Kiersten Grabon, MaST Community Charter School -Grade 6 (tie): Samantha D’Alfonso Saint Christopher School -Grade 7: Nick Keddie, Philadelphia Academy Charter School -Grade 8: William Nelson, Christ the King School -Grade 9: Stephanie Poper, Franklin Towne Charter High School -Grade 10: Claudia McManus, Franklin Towne Charter High School -Grade 11: Robert Gibbs, Franklin Towne Charter High School -Grade 12: Will Crankshaw, Franklin Towne Charter High School

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal