Community Advisory Board

The WHYY Community Advisory Board reviews WHYY’s programming and service goals and policy decisions. It advises the WHYY Board of Directors and staff on whether WHYY’s goals meet the specialized educational and cultural needs of the communities WHYY serves. Members may serve three consecutive two-year terms.

Applications and nominations for Community Advisory Board membership are welcome from June through August each year. To apply or submit a name, send a brief statement of interest and a bio or resume to

2024 Meeting Schedule

Tuesday, March 19, 2024
Wednesday, June 26, 2024
Wednesday, September 25, 2024
Wednesday, December 18, 2024


Barbara Bisgaier (Chair)
Jobert E. Abueva
José Bauermeister
Bonnie Chang
Tiffany Cherry
Susan Choi
Luis Manuel Colmenares
Rebeca Cruz-Esteves
James Duggan
Laura Felleman Fattal
Marc Helberg
Darryl Irizarry Jr.
Paula Luangrath Brown
G. Sebastien Lundby-Thomas
Shannon McLaughlin-Rooney
Cindy Mullock
Beverly Penn
Chandra Pitts
Molly Reed McPheeters
C. Adrienne Rhodes
Jasmine Sessoms
Linda P. Shockley
Jenay Smith
Javier Suarez
Ted Torphy
Eugene Underwood
Rana Walker
Barry Wilkins


Scott Bass
Lanina Cavicchio
Kate Clark
G. Fred DiBona
Jennifer Devor
Noreen Lois Duncan
Blake Eisenhart
Diane Felcyn
JoAnne Fischer
Helen Foss
Jill Friedman-Rickman
Gayle Goodman
Beverly Harper
Bruce Herdman
Susan Janes-Johnson
Elaine Markezin
Jane Maroney
Geoffrey Mesko
Amy Norr
Mark Pavlovich
Jaime Pludo
Denise Portner
Jac Rivers
Christopher Rooney
Dr. Gopal Sankaran
Kenneth Shear
Ronald Strouse
Danielle Sullivan
Vanessa Thomas Smith
Nicholas Torres
Pamela Weddington
Tom Wyatt

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal