Pianist Chang-Yong Shin Graduation Recital

Pianist Chang-Yong Shin

The graduation recital of pianist Chang-Yong Shin from Anyang, Korea. He was the First Prize Winner of the 2016 Hilton Head International Piano Competition. Graduating from Curtis in 2016, he is currently pursuing his Master degree at Juilliard School.

Bach: Prelude and Fugue No. 9 in E major, BWV 878, from The Well-Tempered Klavier, Book II
Chang-Yong Shin, piano

The Well-Tempered Klavier BWV 846-893 is a collection of two series of Preludes and Fugues composed by Bach. The Prelude and Fugue No. 9 in E major, BWV 878 is not apiece that many people perform. Chang-Yong describes it as very light but also heavy.

Chopin: Barcarolle in F-sharp major, Op. 60
Chang-Yong Shin, piano

Barcarolle in F-sharp major, Op. 60 was composed three years before Chopin’s death. This is one of Chopin’s last major compositions. Chang-Yong Shin describes it as one of Chopin’s most beautiful pieces.

Enrique Granados: “Los requiebros” (“Compliments”), from Goyescas, Op. 11
Chang-Yong Shin, piano

Goyescas, Op. 11 is a piano suite written 1911 by Spanish composer Enrique Granados and was inspired by Spanish painter Francisco de Goya. Chang-Yong Shin plays “Los requiebros” (“Compliments”), from the “first book”. He describes the piece very technically challenging and extremely difficult to master.

Mozart: Concerto No. 17 in G major, K. 453
Chang-Yong Shin, piano; Kate Liu, piano accompaniment

Mozart: Concerto No. 17 in G major, K. 453 is one of Chang-Yong’s favor Mozart’s concertos. Originally written for solo piano, flute, two oboes, two bassoons, two horns and strings, in this version Kate Liu joined Chang-Yong as the piano accompaniment playing the orchestra parts. The movements are marked: Allegro; Andante and Allegretto.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal