New Jersey: Don’t forget the law says you have to remove the snow from your car

    Winter begins in less than three weeks and officials are reminding motorists about New Jersey’s snow removal law.

    The law requires drivers to “make all reasonable efforts” to remove ice and snow from their vehicles before getting on the road.

     

    Police have issued 3,200 tickets since the law took effect in October 2010. Officers in Bergen, Hudson and Essex counties wrote the most citations.

    Violators face fines ranging from $25 to $75. However, the fines increase from $200 to $1,000 when failure to remove snow causes injury or property damage.

    Officials say ice and snow can fly off a vehicle at a high rate of speed.

    Police previously were only allowed to write tickets if injuries or property damage occurred.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.