Student Recital: Mendelssohn and Haydn

Mendelssohn: Trio No. 2 in C minor, Op. 66
Angela Sin Ying Chan, violin: Andres Sanchez, cello: Ying Li, piano
This work is for a standard piano trio consisting of violin, cello and piano. It was composed in 1845, only two years before Mendelssohn’s death at the age of 38. The movements are marked: Allegro energico e con fuoco; Andante espressivo; Scherzo: Molto allegro quasi presto; Finale: Allegro appassionato.

Haydn: Concerto No. 2 in D major, Hob. VIIb: 2
Zachary Mowitz, cello: Jungeun Kim, piano
This Haydn: Concerto No. 2 in D major, Hob. VIIb: 2 is technically difficult for the soloist. The first movement is the longest of the three. The movements are
Allegro moderato; Adagio
 and Rondo: Allegro.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal