WHYY wins 15 Associated Press Awards



Winners of the Pennsylvania Associated Press Media Editors contest were announced Friday in Lancaster and WHYY was named Outstanding News Operation in addition to coming away with 14 individual and team awards.

Fourteen television and radio stations submitted 179 entries. Of them, WHYY’s radio reporters, editors and producers took top honors for best newscast and continuing coverage of last year’s Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia. The multi-station collaboration Keystone Crossroads team won best series for their work on lead in Pennsylvania cities. WHYY is the lead station of that project.  WHYY’s health and science show The Pulse also took home four honors.

Here’s the list of WHYY awards.

Outstanding News Operation (Radio I): WHYY-FM, Philadelphia

  • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

Best Continuing Coverage: 1, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “Democratic National Convention”

Best Series: 1, Keystone Crossroads Team, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “The Legacy of Lead in Pa. Cities

Best Investigative Reporting: 1, Joe Hernandez, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia; 2, Bobby Allyn, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia

Best Enterprise Reporting: 1, Irina Zhorov/ The Pulse, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “Russian Beef Industry“; 2, Laura Benshoff, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “Teacher Shortage, Staffing Services Struggle to Meet Demand for Substitutes.”

Best Public Service: 1, Katie Colaneri, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia.

Best Documentary:  2, Elana Gordon/ The Pulse, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “Legionnaires Disease.”

Best Feature: 2, Marielle Segarra, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “A Garden, a Redevelopment Plan, and a Fight Over Who Owns a Neighborhood in Philadelphia.”

Best Sports Feature: 1, Jay Scott Smith, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “Ryan Howard’s Philadelphia Legacy Stretches Further Than the Field.”

Best Use of Sound: 1, Irina Zhorov / The Pulse, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “Autopsy“; 2, Elana Gordon / The Pulse, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia, “Fantasia.”

Best Newscast: 1, Jennifer Lynn and Jay Scott Smith, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia; 2, Newsworks Tonight, WHYY-FM, Philadelphia.

Also of note, former WHYY/NewsWorks intern Emily Rolen, a journalism major who graduated this month from Temple University, is the winner of the Ralph Flamminio Memorial Scholarship. Rolen, 22, of Downingtown, Pennsylvania, was recognized Friday at the annual PAPME awards ceremony in Lancaster.

Click through for a complete list of winners.

WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal