The seven sacraments lived out in Philadelphia

In the Catholic faith, a sacrament is a sign instituted by Christ to express his grace. Baptism, communion, confession, confirmation, marriage, holy orders, and anointing of the sick — these are moments of healing and spiritual renewal that serve as defining milestones in each Catholic’s life.
In Ancient Faith, Modern Lives, we introduce you to Catholics around the region who share their experiences with each of these seven sacraments.


My hope for all of our children [is that] at times they may be challenged, at times they may not understand everything, but their faith will carry them through.


It was my special day, but it was still very much family.


You’re choosing to make a choice of how you’re going to live your life when you decide to be confirmed. We should live the way that Jesus would want us to live.


I’m kneeling, telling the priest in the box what my sins are, and as soon as he says: in the name of Christ, I forgive your sins, it’s as if I’m floating on my knees.


I am a person with shortcomings. I’ve been in jail, and god has been my strength. I believe in him very strongly because he has given me what I have today even though I don’t think I deserve what I have today, but I thank him.”

Holy Orders

I think that’s a number one drive for young guys who are considering a vocation — is they have encountered the truth and want to fully subscribe themselves to it and get away from that noise, live for something that’s very objective, something they can rely on.

Anointing of the Sick

I find it to be such a sacred time with people because most of the time all of fluff falls away and we get to be human being to human being, heart to heart. And dwell in that very holy space.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal