Ten Democrats meet petition deadline in Eighth District race

Ten Democratic candidates met today’s deadline to submit nominating petitions for the Eighth District Council primary.

One person expected to file, Anita Hamilton of Germantown, did not meet the 5 p.m. deadline.

All those running are considered unofficial candidates until the City Commissioners confirm that each candidate has turned in 750 or more valid signatures of district voters.

The district covers much of Northwest Philadelphia including; Chestnut Hill, Mt. Airy, and Germantown.

The incumbent Democrat, Donna Reed Miller, is not seeking re-election.

Those who met today’s deadline are:

1) Cindy Bass

2) Fay Dawson

3) Jordan Dillard

4) William Durham

5) Donna Gentile O’Donnell

6) Andrew Lofton

7) Greg Paulmier

8) Robin Tasco

9) Howard Treatman

10) Verna Tyner

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Help us get to 100% of our membership goal to support the reporters covering our region, the producers bringing you great local programs and the educators who teach all our children.