New Jersey may become one of the first states to require parents to promptly report a missing child.
What ‘s being called “Caylee’s Law” would make it a crime in New Jersey for a parent or guardian to neglect reporting a missing child under the age of 13 to law enforcement within 24 hours.
Sen. Nicholas Sacco said the measure he’s sponsoring was prompted by the disappearance and death of 2-year-old Caylee Anthony in Florida.
Her mother, Casey Anthony, did not report the child missing for a month. She was later found dead.
“I don’t think anyone ever thought a parent would be that negligent to not report a child for 30 days. This law is necessary because of the exception to the rule,” her said. “The type of parent or guardian who would do this.”
Penalties for violating Caylee’s Law would include up to 18 months in prison and a $10,000 fine. A similar bill has been introduced in the Assembly.