Hundreds ticketed for violating Delaware cell phone ban

    Officials in Delaware say hundreds of tickets have been issued for cell phone ban violations. The state’s ban on using hand-held phones, games and other electronic devices took effect Jan. 2.

    The State Office of Highway Safety says 718 tickets have been issued so far, as reported by WILM-AM and the Associated Press.

    Though violators don’t receive points on their licenses for chatting and driving, doing so is a primary offense, which means officers can pull over drivers observed using hand-helds.

    Fines range from $50 to $200. That’s one expensive phone call.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.