Delaware State University names new president

    Delaware State University has selected a new president for the Dover institution.

    The Delaware State University has named the 10th president in its history.  Dr. Henry Lee has been selected by the University’s board of trustees. 

    Dr. John Land, acting trustee chair, said of the selection of Dr. Lee, “we are at a turning point in history for historically black institutions, and we need a leader who understands that and can expertly merge our historic purpose with the need to be known as an institution of higher education that exceptionally educates all students for a global marketplace. The Board is confident that Dr. Williams will do just that with rigor, enthusiasm and deep commitment.”

    He will replace Dr. Allen Sessoms who resigned in August 2008.  Dr. Claibourne D. Smith has served as interim president.   He will return to his position on the board of trustees. 

    • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

    Dr. Williams has spent much of career in the University of North Carolina system.  He will take over the post at Delaware State University sometime in January.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal