The Beethoven Violin Sonatas, part three

Ania Filochowska

During the school year of 2014-2015, world-renowned artists Miriam Fried, violin and Jonathan Biss, piano (01) returned to Curtis for a residency which entailed working with students in a violin and piano duo with the goal of performing all ten of Beethoven Violin Sonatas over three years. This performance is part three. The program:

Beethoven: Sonata No. 2 in A major, Op. 12, No. 2
Ania Filochowska, violin; Linzi Pan, piano

Sonata No.2 in A major, Op. 12, No. 2 is the second of his Opus 12 set. It has three movements: Allegro vivace; Andante più tosto allegretto; Allegro piacèvole. Written between 1797 and 1798 it is considered one of his earlier works. Violinist Ania Filochowska describes it as humorous, playful and light-hearted.

Beethoven: Sonata No. 4 in A minor, Op. 23
Brandon Garbot, violin; Jia Cheng Xiong, piano

Composed in 1801, Sonata No.4 received praise from the critics, very different from his first three sonatas. This sonata has three movements marked: Presto; Andante scherzoso, più allegretto; Allegro molto.

Beethoven: Sonata No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 12, No. 3
Shannon Lee, violin; Ying Li, piano

Sonata No. 3 in E-flat major, Op.12 has a more serious tone to it. Written in 1798, this sonata is the third of his Opus 12 set. The three movements are marked: Allegro con spirito; Adagio con molta espressione; Rondo: Allegro molto.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal