Sussex County government approves revised district boundaries

Members of Sussex County Council have approved redrawn districts to accommodate population growth and shifts detailed in the 2010 US Census.

The re-mapped districts will determine residency and the areas represented by the five Council members.  The new boundaries take effect immediately.   Council’s action followed an October public hearing and a process that began in June to seek suggestions from Sussex County residents.  “Drawing lines on a map can be a very subjective process, but this was about as apolitical, open and fair as any redistricting process I have ever seen,” Sussex County Council President Michael Vincent said.  The new plan keeps all five members of Council in their seats and does not force any sitting member to run against another in the 2012 election.  District One was expanded to include Bridgeville with Seaford and Laurel, while District Three was contracted to reflect population growth in the Lewes and Milton areas.  Sussex County’s population grow nearly 26-percent between 2000 and 2010, to 197,145 residents.  CLICK HERE for Sussex County government’s online redistricting page and a look at the revised maps.


Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Help us get to 100% of our membership goal to support the reporters covering our region, the producers bringing you great local programs and the educators who teach all our children.