The U.S. Supreme Court has struck down a California law requiring pregnancy counselors to post notices about abortion rights and access. In light of that decision, here’s a brief overview of abortion laws in the region.
Pennsylvania: Most Restrictive
A woman must wait at least 24 hours after receiving state-directed counsel, which includes information designed to discourage abortion. Insurance policies for public employees covers abortion only in cases of rape or incest, while state funding will cover abortion only when the potential mother’s life is in danger. In addition, any minor seeking an abortion must obtain parental consent.
Clinics in Eastern Pennsylvania: There are at least 10 abortion clinics in Philadelphia, Montgomery, Bucks, Chester, Berks, and Lehigh counties.
Delaware: Somewhat restrictive
Delaware requires written consent from the pregnant woman, followed by a 24 hour waiting period. Abortion providers must be licensed medical doctors, and no abortions are allowed after 20 weeks of pregnancy, except in cases where the pregnant woman’s health or life are at risk.
Clinics in Delaware: Abortion services are provided in at least two facilities in the state of Delaware, located in Wilmington and Dover.
New Jersey: Least Restrictive
New Jersey does not restrict abortion access, but all abortions must be performed in a hospital or other licensed facility.
Clinics in New Jersey: There are a number of abortion clinics across the state of New Jersey. In South Jersey, some clinics are located in Camden, Cherry Hill, and Voorhees.