Student Recital: Schubert and Lalo

Yeyeong Jin

A student recital featuring music by Schubert and Lalo. The program:

Schubert: Sonata in A major, D. 574
Maria Ioudenitch, violin; Zitong Wang, piano

This duo sonata for violin and piano was composed in 1817. Violinist Maria Ioudenitch describes the piece as full of heart and emotion. “There is emotional information in every single note”. The movements are marked: Allegro moderato; Scherzo: Presto; Andantino; Allegro vivace.

Edouard Lalo: Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21
Yeyeong Jin, violin; Jungeun Kim, piano

Written for Spanish violinist Pablo de Sarasate in 1874 the Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21 is one of Lalo’s most played works. It is believed that after Tchaikovsky listened to Symphonie espagnole he decided to write a violin concerto. The movements are marked: Allegro non troppo; Scherzando: Allegro molto; Intermezzo: Allegretto non troppo; Andante; Rondo

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal