Student Recital: Rózsa, Pujol, Mussorgsky

Daniel Hsu

The premiere of Season Eleven of On Stage At Curtis features a student recital. The program:

Miklós Rózsa: Toccata capricciosa, Op. 36
Oliver Herbert, cello
Toccata capricciosa, Op. 36 is one of five compositions for solo cello written by Hungarian composer Miklós Rózsa. Rózsa spent most of his career in Hollywood writing film scores. Cellist Oliver Herbert describes the piece as an extremely virtuoso solo cello piece and demands unusual technique from the cellist.

Pujol: Suite Buenos Aires
Emma Resmini, flute; Xiaobo Pu, guitar
Argentina classical guitarist and composer Máximo Diego Pujol composed this duet for guitar and flute. The movements are marked: Pompeya, Palermo, San Telmo and Microcentro. He named the movements after places in Argentina.

Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition
Daniel Hsu, piano
Pictures at an Exhibition is considered Modest Mussorgsky’s most famous piano compositions. The inspiration for this composition came from an art exhibition of his good friend Viktor Hartmann’s paintings after he died suddenly at the age of 39. The movements represents a painting in the exhibition and the Promenade is use to take us from one picture to the next. The movements are marked: Promenade; The Gnome—Promenade; The Old Castle; Promenade; Tuileries; Bydlo; Promenade; Ballet of Unhatched Chicks; Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle; Promenade
The Market Place at Limoges; Catacombs; Baba-Yaga’s Hut and The Great Gate of Kiev.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal