Student Recital: Calhoun, Mendelssohn

    A student recital from flutist Emma Resmini from Fairfax, VA, studying with Jeffrey Khaner. Emma was the 2016 Albert M. Greenfield Student Competition winner in the Junior Division and violinist Angela Sin Ying Chan from Hong Kong studying with Shmuel Ashkenasi and Aaron Rosand. Angela won 1st prize in the 18 to 20 year old category 2016 Louis Spohr International Violin Competition.

    Calhoun: Sonata for Flute and Piano
    Emma Resmini, flute; Michelle Cann, piano
    Sean William Calhoun is a contemporary composer currently pursuing a D.M.A. in composition from the Eastman School of Music. The Sonata for Flute and Piano was composed for Emma. She describes the piece as “one of the most technically challenging pieces I’ve work on.” The movements are marked:
    Prelude – solo with pedal held
    Epilogue – with pedal point

    Mendelssohn: Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
    Angela Sin Ying Chan, violin; Jungeun Kim, piano
    This concerto is one of the most popular and most often performed violin concertos in history. Movements are marked:
    Allegro molto appassionato—
    Andante—Allegretto non troppo—
    Allegro molto vivace

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal