Watch/Listen: Staff attorneys for House Dems & GOP testify on evidence for impeachment

Listen on WHYY-FM, watch on WHYY-TV or stream online.

Student Recital: Brahms

Zachary Mowitz, cello; Kate Liu, piano

A student recital featuring music by Brahms. The program:

Brahms: Sonata No. 2 in F major, Op. 99
Zachary Mowitz, cello; Kate Liu, piano

Sonata No. 2 in F major, Op. 99 was written in 1886, 21 years after Brahms finished his first cello sonata. There are four movements marked: Allegro vivace; Adagio affettuoso; Allegro passionato; Allegro molto. This youthful and passionate sonata will demonstrate Brahms growth over those two decades.

Brahms: Fantasien, Op. 116
Zitong Wang, piano

Brahms Fantasien, Op. 116 is a set of miniatures well liked among both audiences and performers. The miniatures are unlike any Brahms had composed for the piano. They consist of three capriccios and four intermezzos. The movements are marked: Capriccio: Presto energico; Intermezzo: Andante; Capriccio: Allegro passionato; Intermezzo: Adagio; Intermezzo: Andante con grazia ed intimissimo sentimento; Intermezzo: Andantino teneramente; Capriccio: Allegro agitato.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.