Student Recital: Beethoven and Brahms

Marie Rossano

A student recital featuring:

Beethoven: Sonata No. 10 in G major, Op. 96
Marié Rossano, violin; Janice Carissa, piano

Written in 1812, this is the last of Beethoven’s ten sonatas. It has four movements: Allegro moderato; Adagio espressivo; Scherzo: Allegro; Poco allegretto. It is believed that the fourth movement was written with French violinist and composer “Pierre Robe’s style in mind”. Beethoven wrote, “We like rushing and resounding passages, but this does not please R, and this hindered me somewhat.”

Brahms: Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78
Ania Filochowska, violin; Jungeun Kim, piano

This sonata demonstrates the equal partnership between violin and piano. It is a very romantic sonata in every way. The sonata is in three movements: Vivace ma non troppo; Adagio; Allegro molto moderato

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.