Jeff Gordon wins sun-soaked NASCAR race in Delaware (photos)

Jeff Gordon has won the third race in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship and is part of a 12-driver field that advanced to the next round.
Gordon was in control in the closing laps Sunday at Dover International Speedway and joined Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano as the three drivers who were guaranteed a berth in the next Chase round with victories.
Kurt Busch, AJ Allmendinger, Greg Biffle and Aric Almirola were eliminated from championship contention. Four more drivers will be eliminated in the next three-race segment that starts next week at Kansas Speedway.
Kasey Kahne was the last driver to make the Chase cut. Kevin Harvick also advanced along with Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, Carl Edwards and Ryan Newman.
Before the race, thousands of fans gathered around the Monster Monument statue outside the track to hear from NASCAR legend and seven time champion Richard Petty. Petty talked about his memories of the first NASCAR race at Dover in 1969 which Petty won.
Once again, there were large patches of the stands that were less than sparsely populated with fans, but the front stretch section opposite of pit road was jam packed.
NASCAR returns to Dover in 2015, with the first of two race weekends at the end of May.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal