Lead-footed drivers in Delaware could face $300 fines and possible jail time, if caught, as part of the state’s “Respect the Sign” campaign.
The Delaware Office of Highway Safety (OHS) and law enforcement officers have teamed up for the statewide campaign, in an effort to enforce traffic safety laws and educate drivers on why they need to obey speed limit, yield and stop signs.
“Respect the Sign” consists of seven, two-week mini-waves of enforcement, stopping individuals under Delaware’s aggressive driving law. Charged with aggressive driving and for each individual traffic offense, OHS warns penalties include fines between $100 and $300 for a first offense, possible jail time and mandatory attendance at an all-day behavior modification course. Subsequent convictions will result in loss of driving privileges for a month.
Since the campaign kicked off in February, OHS says the total citations issued to date include 1,870 speeding citations, 154 drivers nabbed for failing to stop at a stop sign, 79 drivers for unsafe lane changes and 13 arrested for aggressive driving.
Since the start of this year, OHS says 40 percent of the 52 fatal crashes in Delaware were blamed on drivers who did not “Respect the Sign.” The campaign is expected to continue through early December.