3 Delaware elementary schools National Blue Ribbon winners

National Blue Ribbon status is bestowed on schools based on its overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups such as low-income students and those of means.

Delaware’s Sussex winners are East Millsboro Elementary in the Indian River School District and Seaford Central Elementary in the Seaford district. Upstate, Olive B. Loss Elementary School in the Appoquinimink School District of southern New Castle County also was picked.

East Millsboro also was selected in 2008.

Delaware has had at least one winner, and usually two or three, every year since 2003.

The 342 winners will be honored at a November awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Help us get to 100% of our membership goal to support the reporters covering our region, the producers bringing you great local programs and the educators who teach all our children.