Zorá String Quartet

    The Curtis Institute of Music quartet in residence the ZoráString Quartet. The Zorá Quartet members are violinists Dechopol Kowintaweewat and Seula Lee, violist Pablo Muñoz Salido, and cellist Zizai Ning. The program also highlights guitarist Alec Holcomb (’17) and pianist Ying Li.

    Mozart: Quartet in D minor, K. 421
    Zorá String Quartet
    Austrian composer Joseph Haydn and Mozart had great respect for each other’s works. Some believe that Haydn was somewhat a mentor to Mozart. Quartet in D minor, K. 421 is the second of the six quartets Mozart dedicated to Haydn. The movements are marked: Allegro; Andante; Menuetto; Allegretto ma non troppo.

    Webern: Langsamer Satz
    Zorá String Quartet
    Langsamer Satz (“Slow Movement”) is considered love music for Wilhelmine Mörtl, who later became Anton Webern’s wife. This piece illustrates the real emotions of young love. Webern wrote “To walk forever like this among the flowers, with my dearest one beside me, to feel oneself so entirely at one with the university.”

    Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez: Adagio

    Alec Holcomb, guitar; Ying Li, piano
    Concierto de Aranjuez is a guitar concerto by Spanish composer Joaquín Rodrigo. Adagio is the second movement in the Concierto de Aranjuez but was the first to be written by Rodrigo. Rodrigo said “when I heard a voice inside me singing the entire theme of the Adagio at one go, without hesitation.”

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal