Cellist Jean Kim, Violinists Ania Filochowska and Brandon Garbot

    Two pieces from recent graduates of the Curtis Institute of Music. Violinists Ania Filochowska who is currently performing with the Berlin Philharmonic’s Karajan Academy and Brandon Garbot who is currently studying with Ani Kavafian at the Yale School of Music. The program begins with cellist Jean Kim performing a sonata by Beethoven.

    Beethoven: Sonata No. 5 in D major, Op.102, No. 2
    Jean Kim, cello; Zitong Wang, piano

    During the composition of Sonata No. 5 in D major, Op. 102, No. 2 Beethoven was profoundly deaf. Composed in 1815, this was Beethoven’s last cello sonata. The sonata consists of three movements: Allegro con brio; Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto; Allegro.

    Tartini: Sonata in G minor (“Devil’s Trill”) edition, Fritz Kreisler
    Ania Filochowska, violin; Michael Davidman, piano

    Giuseppe Tartini had a dream in which the Devil was playing the violin with such ferociousness that after waking from the dream he wrote this sonata but later stated he was unable to capture the Devil’s full intensity. Violinist Fritz Kreisler made an edition of this sonata. The movements are Larghetto; Allegro energico and Grave-Allegro assai.

    Nielsen: Prelude, Theme, and Variations, Op. 48
    Brandon Garbot, violin

    Carl Nielsen was a violinist, conductor and Denmark’s foremost composer. Completed in 1923,The Prelude, Theme, and Variations, Op. 48 last about 15 minutes and consist of a Prelude, Theme and 8 Variations.

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal