Sussex County council takes shape

Sussex County’s leadership has some new faces for the new year.

Councilman Michael H. Vincent of Seaford is the new Council President.  The vice president is Councilman Samuel R. Wilson Jr. Prior to their selection as Council leadership, returning Council members George B. Cole and Vance Phillips took their oaths of office for new four-year terms.

Three of the County’s four row offices changed hands on Tuesday. Jeffrey S. Christopher, Scott M. Dailey and Cynthia Green were sworn in as the County’s new Sheriff, Recorder of Deeds, and Register of Wills.

Council approved J. Everett Moore to re-appointment as County Attorney. Mr. Moore will serve the County Council as the elected body’s chief counsel.  Vincent G. Robertson and Richard E. Berl Jr. also were re-appointed as assistant county attorneys, with Mr. Robertson to serve the Planning & Zoning Commission and Mr. Berl to serve the Board of Adjustment.

  • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal