PSU to have 2 law schools, 1 in Carlisle

The American Bar Association has agreed to separately accredit two Penn State law schools, one on its main campus and the other in Carlisle.

The Centre Daily Times reports the schools will still operate under the umbrella name of Dickinson School of Law, but the law programs on its two campuses will now be called Penn State Law at University Park and Dickinson Law in Carlisle.

University officials say the move, to begin in the fall of 2015, is about more than separate names for the two law school campuses.

The Penn State Law school on the main campus will focus more on traditional legal training, while the Dickinson Law school will bolster government and medical law programs given that school’s proximity to Harrisburg, Washington D.C., and the Penn State Hershey Medical Center.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal