New Jersey saltwater anglers could pay big fines for their big catches if they don’t register with the state.
Fines of $300 to $3,000 for first offenses and $500 to $5,000 for subsequent offenses are hanging over the heads of unregistered anglers.
Registration, which began this week, is free, but anglers who’ve previously paid to register at the federal level must also get their names on the New Jersey list, the Press of Atlantic City reports.
The state Department of Environmental Protection says the feds are pushing for the fines, but the Recreational Fishing Alliance argues the fines are unreasonable compared with other registries and violations like catching undersized fish.
Registry enforcement has begun.