Museum honors exceptional teachers

    The National Liberty Museum has announced the 2010 educators set to receive the “Teacher as Hero” Award. Along with State Farm, the museum will honor the 15 Philadelphia area teachers in a ceremony next week.


    The teachers, from Philadelphia, New Jersey and  Pennsylvania suburbs  will be honored for their excellence, commitment, leadership, conflict resolution and community service. The reception is Jan. 27 at the National Liberty Museum in Old City.

    Mary Jane Chambers of Triton Regional High School in Rennemede, NJ
    Mike Conn of Milton Area Senior High School in Milton, Pa.
    Jamie Evans of Cramer College Prepatory Lab School in Camden, NJ
    Gerri Garofalo of Archbishop Wood High School in Warminster, Pa.
    Madeline Glowienka of Lingelbach Elementary School in Northwest Philadelphia
    David Hall of North Penn High School in Lansdale, Pa.
    Andrene Henderson of Jay Cooke Elementary School in North Philadelphia
    Lynn Jacobs of Anna Blakiston Day School in Northwest Philadlphia
    Carolyn Kivenias of Allen M. Stearne Elementary School in Northeast Philadelphia
    Katerina Luckett of YWCA Tri-County Area/Pottstown Head Start
    Jessica Marine of St. Francis De Sales in Southwest Philadelphia
    Elizabeth Harvey, Kate Hayes and Kendall McArthur-Johnson of School of the Future in West Philadelphia
    Donna Wolfert of Mattison Avenue Elementary School in Ambler, Pa.

    • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal