Lindback Awards honor principals for the first time

    The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation is honoring seven School District of Philadelphia teachers today with an award traditionally reserved for teachers.


    Recognized for their leadership and humanitarian efforts, each principal will receive $10,000 for their schools, the Inquirer reports.

    Receiving awards today are:

    • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

    Sheldon Pavel, Central High School
    Yolanda Armstrong, Pepper Middle School
    Charles Connor, Decatur Elementary School
    Patricia Epps, Forrest Elementary School
    David Kipphut, Swenson Arts & Technology High School
    Charles Staniskis, Franklin Learning Center
    Darlene Vaughn, Stearne Elementary School

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal