Del. Senate Republicans elect leaders

    Two familiar faces earn top spots for minority party in Delaware Senate.

    The Republican Caucus of the Delaware State Senate has selected its leadership for the upcoming 146th General Assembly.

    Sen. F. Gary Simpson (R-Milford)

    Senator F. Gary Simpson (R-Milford) was re-elected Senate Minority Leader and Senator Liane Sorenson (R-Hockessin) was re-elected as Senate Minority Whip.

    Republicans are outnumbered by Democrats in the Senate 14-7.

    Simpson says he looks forward to working with Democrats to address the issues facing Delaware.

    “I fully realize that if Delaware is to move forward with meaningful public policy, both sides must put aside petty politics and reach across the aisle to build strong consensus,” he said. “I am committed to doing just that.”

    Simpson, who has served as Minority Leader since 2008, was first elected to the Senate in 1998. Sorenson was first elected in 1994 and has served in the Senate as Minority Whip since 2000.

    Sen. Liane Sorenson (R-Hockessin)

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.