12 acquitted for ‘Occupy Wells Fargo’ sit-in [updated]

Update: All 12 were acquitted of the charges in March 2013 after a Common Pleas Court jury deliberated for about 13 hours.

Original report: Twelve people were found guilty yesterday of defiant trespassing and conspiracy charges for their Nov. 18 sit-in at a Philadelphia Wells Fargo.

Gina Apuzzo, Michael Blas, Anthony Abata, Larry Swetman, Alan Sable, Keil Troisi, Aaron Troisi,  Dustin Slaughter, Willard Johnson, Justin Audia, Justin Murphy and Adam Hill were arrested during the protest at 17th and Market streets, where they sat down in the bank lobby.

“Despite being allowed to protest for over an hour, these individuals refused to leave, requiring multiple police officers to separate and detain them, all as the crowd chanted ‘shame’ at the officers,” according to the verdict statement released yesterday by the District Attorney’s office.

  • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor


An earlier version of this story reported the 12 had originally been charged with disorderly conduct. This story has also been updated to reflect the most recent court findings.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal