Violinist Marie Rossano Graduation Recital

Marie Rossano

The graduation recital of Violinist Marié Rossano. She received a bachelor degree of music in 2016 from Curtis Institute of Music and the 2016 Edward Aldwell Award for Excellence in Musical Studies. Today she is a member of the New York Philharmonic.

Poulenc: Sonata for Violin and Piano
Marié Rossano, violin; Janice Carissa, piano

This sonata was composed during 1942 and 1943 while in the midst of World War II. This is a dark and angry sonata dedicated to the memory of poet Federico Garcia Lorca, who was slain in the recent Spanish Civil War. The movements are: Allegro con fuoco; Intermezzo: Très lent et calme and Presto tragico. For Marié Rossano, she believes the heart of the piece is the middle movement.

Steven Franklin: Fantasy-Journey
Marié Rossano, violin; Chang-Yong Shin, piano

Current Curtis Institute of Music trumpet player and composer Steven Franklin wrote Fantasy-Journey for Marié’s graduation recital. She describes the piece as heart warming with so many emotions and colors.

Prokofiev: Sonata in D major, Op. 94bis
Marié Rossano, violin; Daniel Hsu, piano

Sergey Prokofiev was a Russian Composer. The Sonata in D major, Op. 94bis was arranged for violin in 1943 after he wrote the Flute Sonata in D, Op. 94 in 1942, because of his good friend David Oistrakh, a renowned Soviet violinist. The work was well received in its violin version. The movements are: Moderato; Scherzo: Presto; Andante; and Allegro con brio.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal