Student Recital: Ysaÿe and Beethoven

Gergana Haralampieva

A varied student recital. The program:

Eugène Ysaÿe: Sonata in A minor, Op. 27, No. 2, (“Obsession”)
Gergana Haralampieva, violin

In 1923 Ysaÿe wrote six sonatas for solo violin. Each sonata was dedicated to a fellow violinist. Sonata in A minor, Op. 27, No. 2, subtitled “Obsession” was dedicated to French violinist Jacques Thibaud a friend of Ysaÿe. The sonata is in four movements marked: Prélude: Poco vivace; Malinconia: Poco lento; Danse des ombres: Sarabande (lento); Les Furies: Allegro furioso performed by Gergana Haralampieva from Norwood, MA, entering Curtis in 2012 and studies with Ida Kavafian.

Beethoven: Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 131
Stephen Tavani, violin; Abigail Fayette, violin; Hyeri Shin, viola; Zachary Mowitz, cello

The challenging Beethoven’s Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 131 is about 40 minutes long, attacca (no pause between movements) throughout the entire piece and has seven movements. This late Beethoven quartet is complicated, and conjured up huge range of emotionally intense feelings. The movements are marked: Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo; Allegro molto vivace; Allegro moderato; Andante ma non troppo e molto cantabile; Presto; Adagio quasi un poco andante; Allegro.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal