Student Recital: Brahms and Saint-Saëns

Violinist Kyung Ji Min

A student recital featuring music by Brahms and Saint-Saëns. The program:

Brahms: Trio in E-flat major, Op. 40
Amit Melzer, horn; Stephen Tavani, violin; Chelsea Wang, piano
The Brahms Trio in E-flat major, Op.40 is an unusual chamber set of instruments. Most chamber pieces include the violin, cello and piano however the horn replaces the cello part in this trio. It was written for a natural horn, but it is played with a valve horn. This piece is in four movements marked: Andante; Scherzo: Allegro; Adagio mesto; Finale: Allegro con brio. Composed in 1865 Brahms pay tribute to his mother Christiane.

Saint-Saëns: Sonata No. 1 in D minor, Op. 75
Kyung Ji Min, violin; Aimi Kobayashi, piano
Composed in 1885 by Camille Saint-Saëns the Sonata No. 1 in D minor, Op. 75 is in four movements, the first and second movements are attacca and the only break comes between the second and third movements. The four movements are arranged in two groups of two. The movements are marked: Allegro agitato—Adagio; Allegretto moderato—Allegro molto. Kyung Ji Min, violinist, entered Curtis in 2012 from Seoul South Korea and studies with Aaron Rosand. Aimi Kobayashi, pianist, entered Curtis in 2013 from Yamaguchi, Japan and is a student of Meng-Chieh Liu.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal