Cellist Timotheos Petrin and Pianist Chelsea Wang

    Two 2017 graduates of the Curtis Institute of Music, Timotheos Petrin, named 2016 “Performance Today” Young Artist in Residence and currently pursuing a Master’s degree from the New England Conservatory and pianist Chelsea Wang, currently pursuing her Master of Music degree at Peabody Conservatory.

    Franck: Sonata in A major for Violin
    Timotheos Petrin, cello; Chelsea Wang, piano
    Originally written as a sonata for violin it was one of Franck’s most famous sonatas and it was so popular many arrangements were made but the cello’s arrangement received the composer’s approval. Mr. Petrin believes the movement’s represents the stages of life from the beginning of life, to the turmoil of a young man, to a reflecting late adulthood and then a glorious finale. The movements are marked: Allegretto ben moderato; Allegro; Recitativo-Fantasia and Allegretto poco mosso.

    Mozart: Sonata in F major, K. 533/494
    Chelsea Wang, piano
    This Mozart wrote the third movement originally as a stand-alone pieces composed earlier in 1786. He later wrote the first two movements in 1788 to be incorporated into the piece. It was published as a sonata in 1788. The movements are Allegro; Andante and Rondo: Allegretto.

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal