Seven Catholic schools in Philadelphia and Bucks County will close

    The Archdiocese announced this morning it will close seven schools in Philadelphia and Bucks County at the end of this school year.

    As the Inquirer reports, declining enrollment would mean tuition would have to increase far too much to keep the schools operating.

    Closing are:

    Ascension of Our Lord in Kensington
    St. Anne in Kensington
    St. Cyprian in Cobbs Creek
    St. Hugh of Cluny in Fairhill
    Our Lady of Fatima in Bensalem
    St. Martin of Tours in New Hope
    St. Thomas Aquinas in Croydon

    • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal