Postal workers honored for safe driving

Nine Delaware letter carriers will be honored by the Postal Service today for driving more than one million miles without an accident.

 Deborah McHugh, Rick Patton, Jeannette Schmidt, Patricia White, Steven Coleman, Timothy Coombs, Jeffrey Jacobs, Karen McCummings and Joseph Sontowski will receive their recognition during a ceremonies at different Post Offices in New Castle County.  According to the National Safety Council, nearly 7,100 postal employees have achieved a unique distinction most of us never approach in a lifetime — driving more than a million, accident-free miles. 


Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.