Ocean County added to FEMA’s list of New Jersey disaster areas

    Ocean County has been added to the list of South Jersey counties that qualify for federal disaster relief for Hurricane Irene. Irene made landfall in Little Egg Harbor last week before moving up the coast.

    Burlington County also joins the list, which also includes Atlantic, Cumberland, Gloucester and Salem counties.

    Residents and businesses owners in these counties will be able to apply for individual relief, as the Press of Atlantic City reports, and municipalities can do the same.

    Ocean County Freeholder Joseph Vicari thanked Gov. Chris Christie for his “quick and strong support” of the county’s disaster application.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal