Farm aid

    New Jersey farmers are getting some good news from the federal government:

    The U.S. Department of Agriculture is designating 16 New Jersey counties as primary natural disaster areas due to crop losses caused by last summer’s drought and extreme heat. That means they’re eligible for low-interest emergency loans.

    The declaration covers all of New Jersey (except Bergen and Hudson counties) devestated by corn, soybean, forage, vegetable and fruit crop losses.

    • WHYY thanks our sponsors — become a WHYY sponsor

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal