Egg Harbor Township swears in first female committee member in more than a decade

    The first female committee member since the 1990s in Egg Harbor Township was sworn in Sunday.

    The Press of Atlantic City reports Republican Laura Pfrommer is the first woman to serve in elected local office since Democrat Helen McCarthy. McCarthy retired in 1996.

    Pfrommer, 53, comes from the township’s McKee City section. An experienced accountant, Pfrommer tells the Press of Atlantic City her accounting background is the best thing she brings to the table.

    According to the Press of Atlantic City, Maria Bohle, elected in the 1980s, was the township’s first female committee member. Bohle served one term as mayor in 1993.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Help us get to 100% of our membership goal to support the reporters covering our region, the producers bringing you great local programs and the educators who teach all our children.