Delaware cites 300 in one-day hands-free driving sweep

    If people keep this up, Delaware is going to be a much wealthier state. State police cited 330 people during a one-day crack down last week on drivers with cell phones. The April 21 sweep was part of National Distracted Driving Awareness Month.

    Since the law went into effect Jan. 2, the Associated Press reports, more than 2,500 drivers have been cited and 30 cell phone-related crashes have occurred.

    First-time offenses cost $50 and subsequent violations come with fines of up to $200.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.