2023 Youth Media Award Winners: High School

High School Documentary

1st Place: Hero for Humanity

Winner: Sophia Bediako-Maier

2nd Place: A Film About My Notebooks

Winner: Ben Rehrman

3rd Place: Tiny Room for Elephants Festival

Winners: Kendall Dixon, Rose Schmalzbach, Sylvain Farrel

High School News

1st: Place: MLK Drive: Roadway or Recreational Trail?

Winner: Karen Harohalli

2nd Place: UC Townhomes Protest

Winners: Sharon Tyler, Samir Bazemore, Grace Barlow, Kaitlyn Ho

3rd Place: Special COVID Report

Winners: Omar Mumin, Damien Williams, Tiffany Rodriguez

High School Open

1st Place:Fall For Me Too

Winners: Nate Drew, Tom Huangpu, Owen Bush, Katie Youn, Julia Taglang, Strummer Kellet, Mikayla Pedano

2nd Place: Pandemic Travel Film

Winner: Ben Rehrman

3rd Place: Under Pressure

Winners: FLC Medial Assisting Senior Class

High School Narrative

1st Place:Strawberry Shakes

Winner: Ava Skye Barton

2nd Place: New Age Natural Selection

Winner: Austin Snetsky

3rd Place: The Reunion Morte

Winner: Zainab O Olajide

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal