Violinist Laura Park Graduation Recital

Laura Park

The graduation recital of violinist Laura Park. Originally from Chicago, Laura studied with Ida Kavafian while at Curtis from 2012 to 2016. She will continue her studies with Ani Kavafian at Yale School of Music in the fall of 2016.

Mozart: Sonata in E-flat major, K. 302
Laura Park, violin; Chang-Yong Shin, piano
In 1778, Mozart decided to compose six sonatas for violin and keyboard in the same style as the six sonatas for harpsichord and violin (gusto) composed by Joseph Schuster.  The Sonata in E-flat major, K. 302 is the second sonata of his set of six. The movements are marked: Allegro; Rondo: Andante grazioso.

Ysaÿe: Sonata in G minor, Op. 27, No. 1
Laura Park, violin
Eugène Ysaÿe was a Belgian violinist and composer. He lived between 1858 and 1931, and Ysaÿe was viewed as “The King of the Violin.” He composed six sonatas for solo violin in 1923 and each was dedicated to one of his comtemporary violinists. Sonata in G minor, Op. 27, No. 1 is in four movements and was dedicated to Hungarian violinist Joseph Szigeti. The four movements are marked: Grave; Fugato; Allegretto poco scherzoso and Finale con brio.

Strauss: Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 18
Laura Park, violin; Chelsea Wang, piano
The Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 18 is a huge piece in the violin and piano collaborative repertoire. This piece requires a great deal of technical skill from both violinist and pianist. The movements are the following: Allegro, ma non troppo; Improvisation: Andante cantabile and Finale: Andante—Allegro.

Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal