Pianists Tianxu An and Ying Li

    Beijing, China natives pianist Tianxu An and Ying Li. Their program:

    Musto: Improvisation and Fugue
    Tianxu An, piano
    John Musto is a contemporary American composer and pianist. Improvisation and Fugue was written for a 2008 New York International Piano Competition.

    Beethoven: Sonata No. 4 in E-flat major, Op. 7
    Tianxu An, piano
    This sonata is one of Beethoven early works, composed between 1796 and 1797. The movements are marked Allegro molto e con brio; Largo con gran espressione
    Allegro and Rondo: Poco allegretto e grazioso.

    Bartók: Sonata
    Ying Li, piano
    This piano sonata was composed during the time what has come to be known as Bartók “piano year.” He composed a series of short piano pieces in 1926. The duration of this piece runs about thirteen minutes. Movements are marked Allegro moderato; Sostenuto e pesante and Allegro molto.

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal