Pianist Yijia Wang Graduation Recital

    The graduation recital of Yijia Wang from Shanghai, China who is currently studying at Juilliard. Doron Laznow a bassoonist from Jerusalem is also featured.

    Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales
    Yijia Wang, piano
    Valses nobles et sentimentales is a suite of waltzes composed by Maurice Ravel.
    It was written as homage to Schubert’s piano Valses Sentimentales and Valses Nobles following his example. The waltzes are:
    Modéré, très franc—
    Assez lent—
    Assez animé—
    Presque lent, dans un sentiment intime—
    Moins vif—
    Épilogue: Lent

    Brahms: Sonata No. 1 in C major, Op. 1
    Yijia Wang, piano
    Johannes Brahms chose to have piano Sonata No. 1 in C major, Op. 1 written in Hamburg in 1853 to be the first opus work published because he felt it was of better quality then his Piano Sonata No. 2 which he had written first. The sonata has four long movements:
    Scherzo: Allegro molto e con fuoco
    Finale: Allegro con fuoco

    José Siqueira: Three Etudes for Bassoon
    Doron Laznow, bassoon; Michelle Cann, piano
    Brazilian composer José Siqueira has composed the most pieces for bassoon of all the Brazilian composers. Mr. Laznow describes this piece as expressing the soul of the Brazilian culture. Three movements marked:
    Ad libitum—Allegro
    Tempo di Modinha
    Allegro scherzoso

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal