Joseph de Pasquale Tribute Recital

    On Stage At Curtis features a tribute recital to Joseph de Pasquale. Joseph de Pasquale was a member of the Curtis Institute of Music faculty for more then 50 years in the viola department. He was considered one of the greatest violists in the world. He was a principal violist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra as well as the Philadelphia Orchestra. En-Chi Cheng (’17) and Hae Sue Lee perform two of Joseph de Pasquale favorite pieces.

    Ernest Bloch: Suite for Viola and Piano
    Hae Sue Lee, viola; Zitong Wang, piano
    Ernest Bloch was a Swiss-born American composer that lived between 1880 and 1959. The Suite for Viola and Piano was composed in 1919 while he was teaching composition at the Mannes School of Music in New York City. The movements are marked: Lento—Allegro; Allegro ironico; Lento and Molto vivo.

    Rochberg: Sonata for Viola and Piano
    En-Chi Cheng, viola; Elena Jivaeva, piano
    George Rochberg wrote the composition to honor violist William Primrose for his 75th birthday. Primrose requested that Joseph de Pasquale premiered the Sonata for Viola and Piano with pianist Vladimir Sokoloff. The movements are
    Allegro moderato; Adagio lamentoso and Fantasia: Epilogue.

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal