Brahms Sonatas and Beethoven Variations

    Two sonatas from romantic composer Johannes Brahms, one for violin and piano the other for clarinet, ending with Beethoven variations.

    Brahms: Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78
    Ania Filochowska, violin; Michael Davidman, piano

    Johannes Brahms sent Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78 manuscript copy to Clara Schumann wife of late Robert Schumann; her response was “I must send you a line to tell you how excited I am about your Sonata.” The sonata is has three movements: Vivace ma non troppo; Adagio and Allegro molto moderato.

    Brahms: Sonata in E-flat major, Op.120, No.2
    Tianyi Shen, clarinet; Bolai Cao, piano

    This sonata was written in what is considered Brahms’s late period. Sonata in E-flat major, Op.120, No. 2 is considered one of the “great masterpieces” in the clarinet repertoire.

    Beethoven: Variations on “Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen””
    Chase Park, cello; Wei Luo, piano

    Beethoven wrote the series of variations for cello and piano from the theme of Mozart’s The Magic Flute in 1801. “Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen” translates to “In Men who feel love.”

    WHYY is your source for fact-based, in-depth journalism and information. As a nonprofit organization, we rely on financial support from readers like you. Please give today.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal