Philadelphia-area teachers to be honored for outstanding work

    Fifteen local teachers are preparing for tomorrow night’s ceremony at the National Liberty Museum for their “Teacher as Hero” awards.

    Sponsored by State Farm, the teachers will be recognized for their commitment, leadership, community and conflict resolution services.

    Chosen by a panel of museum officials and local educators representing the finalists, the honored teachers will receive their awards, and their schools will get more training and resources.

    Being honored are:

    Mary Jane Chambers of Triton Regional High School in Rennemede, NJ
    Mike Conn of Milton Area Senior High School in Milton, Pa.
    Jamie Evans of Cramer College Prepatory Lab School in Camden, NJ
    Gerri Garofalo of Archbishop Wood High School in Warminster, Pa.
    Madeline Glowienka of Lingelbach Elementary School in Northwest Philadelphia
    David Hall of North Penn High School in Lansdale, Pa.
    Andrene Henderson of Jay Cooke Elementary School in North Philadelphia
    Lynn Jacobs of Anna Blakiston Day School in Northwest Philadlphia
    Carolyn Kivenias of Allen M. Stearne Elementary School in Northeast Philadelphia
    Katerina Luckett of YWCA Tri-County Area/Pottstown Head Start
    Jessica Marine of St. Francis De Sales in Southwest Philadelphia
    Elizabeth Harvey, Kate Hayes and Kendall McArthur-Johnson of School of the Future in West Philadelphia
    Donna Wolfert of Mattison Avenue Elementary School in Ambler, Pa.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    Together we can reach 100% of WHYY’s fiscal year goal