New handgun limit in New Jersey

    By: Phil Gregory

    New Jersey has a new limit on the number of handguns residents can buy.

    By: Phil Gregory
    philgregorynews@gmail.com

    New Jersey has a new limit on the number of handguns residents can buy.

    Listen:
    [audio: 090806pghandguns.mp3]

    Governor Corzine has signed legislation that restricts the legal purchase of handguns to one per person every 30 days.

    Corzine: Somebody can purchase one gun a month. 13 a year ought to be enough for anybody and anyone who would argue otherwise I think is actually losing track of what is happening in our cities.

    The Governor says the new law will help keep guns off the streets and out of the hands of gang members. A buyer or seller who violates the law could end up facing a 10,000 dollar fine and up to 18 months in prison.

    Want a digest of WHYY’s programs, events & stories? Sign up for our weekly newsletter.

    It will take 126,000 members this year for great news and programs to thrive. Help us get to 100% of the goal.