A bill under consideration in New Jersey would allow judges to impose a bail of up to $10,000 and suspend the driver’s license of anyone charged with driving under the influence more than once within a 60-day period.
The bill comes as the result of a case in Vineland, where a man was charged with drunken driving five times in five weeks.
What do you think of this bill? How much of a problem do you think this is in New Jersey? Have you noticed this issue in other states?Tell us in the comments below.
“He had not been to municipal court. So every time he was arrested, they couldn’t take his license,” Assemblyman Nelson Albano, D-Cape May, told WHYY’s Phil Gregory.
“He continued to drive. He continued to drink. It was a miracle that this man did not kill anyone.”
Currently in New Jersey, drivers who are repeatedly stopped for drunken driving can still drive while waiting for their court date.
You can read more about New Jersey’s DUI violations on the state’s Motor Vehicle Commission website.
Similar legislation is being sponsored in the Senate by Sen. Jeff Van Drew, D-Atlantic.
The bill in the Legislature could be passed by the end of June.